Mytholmroyd Net

Mytholmroyd Net


Pace Egging time is approaching once more! Students from Calder High School are dusting off their Pace Egging hats and swords ready to entertain throughout the Upper Calder Valley on Good Friday.

The students will perform the Midgley Pace Egg play. This is an old tradition within Calder High School, and has been performed by the school for many years now. The Pace Egg Play is based on the oldest play in the world, The Mummers Play. Eight characters are involved in the unfolding story of Saint George and his challengers - Bold Slasher, The Black Prince of Paradine and Hector. The Fool, the Doctor and Tosspot all play important parts and add their own touch of humour to the proceedings.

Following tradition, the Pace Egg Actors are all boys and have been carefully chosen for their roles by experienced "Pace Eggers". They not only had to show how well they can act but also how passionate they are about continuing a custom which is a part of local tradition. Some of last year's Pace Eggers were invited to London for a Vogue photo shoot following which a picture and article appeared in a Vogue feature about British customs.

There will be 10 performances this year in Mytholmroyd, Todmorden, Hebden Bridge, Luddenden, Midgley, Blackshaw Head and Heptonstall. There will be a collection at each performance with the money collected going to charity.

The boys will no doubt entertain everyone who watches them with their acting, singing, ad-libbing, audience participation and high jinks!

This year's cast will be:
Jack Deighton, The Fool;
James Kay, Bold Slasher;
Daniel Cox, The Doctor;
William Foulds, King of Egypt;
Lamin Touray, Black Prince of Paradine;
Joe Moorhead, Hector;
Tom Jennings, Tosspot;
Sam Harris, Saint George.

Performance running order for Good Friday, 6 April:
8:45 Banksfield Estate
9:30 Todmorden
10:30 Mytholmroyd
11:00 Hebden Bridge (Holme Street)
11:30 Hebden Bridge (St George's Square)
12:15 The New Delight Inn (Colden)
1:15 Hebden Bridge (Marina)
2:00 Luddenden Village
2:30 Midgley
3:00 Heptonstall